Expats in Germany – (how) are you settling in?

Welcome to Germany! You’ve answered the call to help fill Germany’s growing skill’s gap and you’ve probably found it fairly easy to settle in at work, but, if you don’t mind me asking, how’s your social life? And, if you’ve come here with a spouse and children, how’s their social life? This is a serious question, because the long-term success of a stay in a foreign country is often determined by factors outside the job.

Communication is a key area. Although English may be your working language, it is advisable to take a German course – preferably kicking off with an intensive course to get you up and running – as some knowledge of German will improve interaction with natives of your host country. A good German course should also teach you something about local customs and, in addition, by attending a German course you’ll meet other incomers with whom you can share experiences.

It is also worth considering attending an intercultural awareness course – ideally with your co-workers. After all, cross-cultural communication isn’t a one-way street and the insights gained from the course can be applied in dealings with international customers and suppliers too.

For expats with families, the situation of the spouse and children is of key importance. According to a study by Harvard University, 60% of prematurely terminated expat assignments could be ascribed to the failure of family members to settle in. Coaching can help spouses in particular, who may not be permitted to obtain a work permit, to find meaningful ways to use their time here. This is just one of several elements designed to support expat families in the Expat Family Programme (www.expat-family-programme.com).

Xchange Services offers German language courses for small groups with a maximum of 4 participants to ensure rapid progress. Click here for dates and times. For further information on intercultural training and coaching, please contact Thomas Hintze on 0911 950 990 26.

Fachkräfte aus dem Ausland – wie integrieren?

Sie sind da – Fachkräfte aus dem Ausland sind inzwischen zumindest beruflich integriert, der Fachkräftemangel betrifft mittlerweile nicht nur die Bereiche IT und Elektroingenieure. Wie sieht es mit der Integration im sozialen Umfeld aus, die wichtig für einen längeren Verbleib der Know-how-Träger und somit für die Nachhaltigkeit der Einarbeitung und der damit verbundenen Investition ist? Haben diese neuen Mitarbeiter eventuell ihre Familie mitgebracht, wie wohl oder isoliert fühlt sich diese und trägt damit für die Langfristigkeit der Beschäftigung bei?

Ein erster Schritt ist sicherlich, die Kommunikation zu ermöglichen, ein Deutschkurs stellt zudem meist weitere soziale Kontakte unter den Teilnehmern her. Zumindest in der Anfangsphase sollte ein intensives Format gewählt werden, ein vorgeschalteter Crashkurs erhöht zudem die Integrationsbereitschaft der deutschen Kollegen und hat somit auch gleich teambildende Wirkung.

Weitere wichtige unterstützende Maßnahmen sind Interkulturelle Trainings, die idealerweise auch die Kollegen des neuen Kollegen mit einbeziehen, was sich ebenfalls teamfördernd auswirkt. Das dabei  gewonnene Wissen kann von den deutschen Mitarbeitern überdies für den Umgang mit Kunden und Lieferanten außerhalb Deutschlands genutzt werden.

Ein wesentlicher Faktor ist die Zufriedenheit der mitgereisten Ehegatten und Kinder. Laut einer Harvard Studie werden 60% der abgebrochenen  „Expat“-Einsätze auf die Tatsache zurückgeführt, dass sich die Angehörigen nicht wohlfühlen. Coaching kann hier eine Maßnahme bilden, die aufgrund rechtlicher Bestimmungen oft zur Untätigkeit verurteilten Ehegatten Möglichkeiten erarbeiten zu lassen, wie sie ihre Zeit sinnvoll ausfüllen können.

Xchange Services hat jetzt neue Deutschkurse aufgesetzt. Kleingruppen von maximal 4 Teilnehmern garantieren schnellen Fortschritt. Die Termine finden Sie hier. Beratung zu allen angesprochenen Themen unter 0911 950 990 26 (Thomas Hintze).